Challenges and possibilities in the north: Emerging markets and sustainability in arctic tourism

Organized by the Arctic Working Group of the Danish Parliament 11. September 2017

The beauty of the Arctic areas attracts increasing numbers of tourists every year. For Iceland the past decades’ tourist boom continues, whilst tourism in emerging markets like the Faroe Islands and Greenland presents unexplored possibilities for economic growth and social benefits. However, new opportunities also present new challenges.

Saturday, October 14, 16:00 - 17:30
Location: Ríma B, Ground Level

As sparsely populated natural environments are ever more exposed to tourists, infrastructure and area management are often found lacking. The dilemma pushes public and local authorities to develop policies geared for accommodating the increased number of tourists without jeopardizing natural or cultural environment. Focusing on emerging markets and sustainability, this session opens with a talkshow on the Icelandic case, and what the Faroe Islands and Greenland can learn from it. Sustainability and long-term considerations are seen as key to a successful tourism policy package, and therefore the session’s second part will present the case of the sustainability certification of Snæfellsnes regional park.


  • Aaja Chemnitz Larsen, Member of the Danish Parliament
  • Aleqa Hammond, Member of the Danish Parliament
  • Árni Gunnarsson, Managing Director, Air Iceland
  • Helga Árnadóttir, Managing Director, Icelandic Travel Industry Associations
  • Jóhan Pauli Helgason, Adviser, Faroese Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
  • Magni Arge, Member of the Danish Parliament; former CEO of Atlantic Airways
  • Ragnhildur Sigurðardóttir, Director, Snæfellsnes Regional Park
  • Sjúrður Skaale, Member of the Danish Parliament; Chairman of the Arctic Working Group
  • Stefán Gíslason, Senior Sustainability Consultant and Owner; Environice Consulting
  • Yewlin Tay, Director of Sales & Marketing, Arctic Wonderland Tours


The Arctic Working Group of the Danish Parliament