Fulbright in the Arctic: a Cross-Disciplinary Dialogue

Organized by the Iceland-US Fulbright Commission in cooperation with the US State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs 16. October 2015

Speakers / Panelists:

Introductory Remarks:

  • Mary E. Kirk, Director, Office of Academic Exchange Programs Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Core US Visiting Scholars / Fellows:

  • Rebecca Pincus, Distinguished Visiting Professor of Maritime Studies, Center for Arctic Study and Policy (US Coast Guard Academy); Fulbright-MFA Arctic Scholar: Politics and Power in the Arctic.
  • Robert Patrick Wheelersburg, Professor of Anthropology, Elizabethtown College; Fulbright-NSF Arctic research scholar: Modelling Sustainable Natural Resource Use in the Arctic to Aid Policy Formation.
  • Jerilynn Jackson, PhD student, University of Oregon; Fulbright-NSF Arctic research fellow: Narrating Glacier loss: Iceland. 

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Lead Scholars:

  • Mike Sfraga, Vice Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Professor of Arctic Policy
  • Ross Virginia, Director, Institute of Arctic Studies, Myers Professor of Environmental Science, Dartmouth College

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Water Group Scholars:

  • Niels Vestergaard, Professor and Chair, Department of Environmental and Business Economics University of Southern Denmark

Fulbright Arctic Initiative Energy Group Scholars:

  • Gunhild Hoogensen Gjørv, Professor of Poltical Science, University of Tromsø
  • Bjarni Magnússon, Assistant Professor of Law, Reykjavik University Fulbright Arctic Initiative Health and Infrastructure 

Group Scholars:

  • Anne Hansen, Associate Professor, The Danish Center for Environmental Assessment, Aalborg University
  • Susan Chatwood, Executive and Scientific Director, Institute for Circumpolar Health Research; Assistant Professor, Dalla Lana School of PublicHealth, University of Toronto
  • Gwen Holdmann, Director, Alaska Center for Energy


  • Belinda Theriault, Executive Director, Iceland-US Fulbright Commission