Innovation for Sustainable Development

Organized by: Global Affairs Canada 5. September 2017

While traditional economic activities will continue to be a mainstay in Canada’s northern economy, creativity, adaptability and resourcefulness are defining qualities of northern inhabitants, and are propelling not only cultural and creative industries – but all sectors – toward a more diverse economy that embraces innovation and technological advancement.

Friday, October 13, 17:55 - 19:25
Location: Silfurberg B, Second Level

The Innovation for Sustainable Development breakout session will feature two panel discussions. The first panel will explore how governments are seeking to spur innovation, what policies and instruments are working, and open the floor to what governments can do better. The second panel will showcase innovation successes across various sectors, discuss future challenges and invite discussion on how collaborating internationally may be part of the innovation solution.


  • The Honourable Stéphane Dion, Ambassador to Germany and Special Envoy to the European Union and Europe, Global Affairs Canada

Policy panel: Strategies for Northern Innovation

  • Stephen Van Dine, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Organization, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Aurian Stark, Assistant Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Government of Nunavut
  • Robert Sauvé, President and Chief Executive Officer, Société du Plan Nord
  • Marc Kielley, Assistant Deputy Minister, Regional Development & Diversification, Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador:

Practitioners’ panel: Northern Innovation in Practice: Challenges and Opportunities

  • Ryan Oliver, Director, Pinnguaq Association
  • Duncan W. Phillips, Vice President, Strategic Enterprises, Mitacs
  • Anne Barker, Arctic Program Leader, National Research Council of Canada
  • Lawrence Keyte, Northern Sustainable Energy Specialist, Polar Knowledge Canada


Heather Exner-Pirot, Strategist for Outreach and Indigenous Engagement, University of Saskatchewan