Program News

Japan's Contribution: Science Challenge With Local Residents — Toward Arctic Sustainable Life

Organized by the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan (21. September 2016)

Location: Ríma A, Harpa First Level

This session will overview various research projects being conducted within the framework of the Arctic Challenge for Sustainability (ArCS), with a particular focus on relationship/collaboration between scientific activities and indigenous peoples, as well as knowledge sharing. 


Nicola Sturgeon, First Minister of Scotland

(20. September 2016)

First Minister of Scotland Nicola Sturgeon will attend the 2016 Arctic Circle Assembly.


Ban Ki-Moon, Secretary-General of the United Nations

Secretary-General of the United Nations (20. September 2016)

Secretary-General of the United Nations Ban Ki-Moon will attend the 2016 Arctic Circle Assembly and deliver a keynote speech.


Sensitive Northern Destinations: Tourism Management and Tourist Dispersion

Organized by EFLA Consulting Engineers (19. September 2016)

Location: Hafnarkot, Harpa First Level

Tourism is a growing source of economic and social benefits in the North, but when a sparsely populated area experiences exponential growth in tourism in only a few years, the infrastructure, safety issues and area management are often found lacking.



2015 Assembly

Over 2000 participants from 50 countries attended the 2015 Arctic Circle Assembly. President of France François Hollande gave a keynote speech discussing the importance of the Arctic as an arena for international climate action leading up to the COP21 Paris Climate Conference. Delegations from China and Germany represented Chinese and German business, research, and policy in the Arctic.


Greenland Forum

With over 350 participants from 20 countries, the Arctic Circle Greenland Forum was the largest international gathering on the Arctic ever to have been held in Greenland. Organized in cooperation with the Government of Greenland -- Naalakkersuisut -- the Forum focused on economic development for the peoples of the Arctic. 

The Forum's speakers addressed issues of the human dimension of industrial projects, examined various forms of indigenous empowerment and representation, shared concrete examples of business plans and initiatives, and envisioned a future of mental well-being in the Arctic.