Arctic Circle VIRTUAL

A new Online Media Platform for Dialogue on the Arctic

Arctic Circle VIRTUAL is an online media platform that offers prominent leaders in business, politics, science and other fields related to the Arctic, to present their views to a global audience. It presents new ways of discussing the Arctic while connecting interesting initiatives, speakers and organizations together.

Similarly to the Arctic Circle Assemblies and Forums, participants from all over the world are encouraged to ask their questions, make comments and be a part of the open democratic dialogue.

Greenland in the New Arctic

22 February 2021

3:00 pm GMT/10 am ET

In this event, Össur Skarphéðinsson, Chairman of the Greenland Committee discussed the newly published report on the current co-operation between Greenland and Iceland and it's 99 recommendations on how to strengthen it even further. Opening remarks from H.E. Guðlaugur Þór Þórðarson, Iceland's Minister for Foreign Affairs. Moderated by Halla Hrund Logadóttir, Harvard Kennedy School Arctic Initiative.

Visit the event page for the full video recording, link to the full report, information on the speakers and more.

Visit the event site

Estonia in the Arctic Council? What can it offer?

14 January 2021

02:00 PM GMT/ 09:00 AM EDT

Estonia submitted an application for observer status in the Arctic Council on November 9, 2020.

During this event, President of Estonia, Kersti Kaljulaid, discussed the application, what Estonia can offer the Arctic and answered questions from the audience.

Moderated by H.E. Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, Chairman Arctic Circle, President of Iceland 1996-2016.

Visit the Event Site

The Future of EU in the Arctic

1 December 2020

03:00 pm GMT/10 am EDT

A dialogue with EU's Ambassador at Large for the Arctic, Michael Mann on the Future of the EU in the Arctic and the updates to the EU Arctic Policy. Moderated by Rachael Lorna Johnstone, Professor of Law at the University of Akureyri and at Ilisimatursafik (University of Greenland).

Visit the event page for the full video recording, links to the EU Arctic Policy and related articles, information on H.E. Michael Mann and Rachael Lorna Johnston and more.

Visit the Event site

Arctic Future Challenge

26 November 2020

02:00 PM GMT/ 09:00 AM EDT

The Arctic Future Challenge Award Show. Awards were presented in three categories: Arctic Youth Startup of the Year, Arctic Youth Founder(s) of the year and Best Arctic Youth Business Concept. 

Panel Discussions with the Winners after the Ceremony.

Visit the event page for the full video recording, links to Arctic Future Challenge website, information on the winners and more.

Visit the Event Site

Sweden's New Arctic Policy

16 November 2020

14:45 am GMT

A dialogue with Sweden's Minister for Foreign Affairs, H.E. Ann Linde on the new Arctic Policy of Sweden and its geopolitical implications. Moderated by H.E. Össur Skarphéðinsson, former Minister for Foreign Affairs in Iceland.

Visit the event page for the full video recording, links to Sweden's New Arctic Policy and related articles, information on H.E. Ann Linde and Former Minister Össur Skarphéðinsson and more.

Foto: Kristian Pohl/Regeringskansliet.

Visit the Event Site

THE GLOBAL ARCTIC TODAY!

11 November 2020

4:00 PM GMT/ 11:00 AM EDT

A dialogue with the Arctic Circle Mission Council on the GlobalArctic, discussing geopolitical stability & power politics, fossil economy, focus on science, and the urgency of climate change mitigation.

Visit the event page for the full video recording, videos on the GlobalArctic Mission Council, information on the speakers and more.

Visit the Event Site

MOSAiC: Largest Arctic Expedition in History

27 October 2020

08:00 AM EST/12:00 GMT

A dialogue with MOSAiC leaders Markus Rex and Antje Boetius. Moderated by Jan-Gunnar Winther, Director of the Center for the Ocean and the Arctic.

Visit the event page for the full video recording, videos on the MOSAiC Expedition, information on the speakers and more.

Visit the Event Site

United States Presidential Elections

6 OCTOBER 2020

09:30am EDT / 1:30pm GMT

How will the Arctic be impacted by the U.S. Presidential Election?

The Arctic Circle is proud to present its first VIRTUAL event: Dialogue with Senator Lisa Murkowski. The Dialogue took place when the Presidential election was only four weeks away!

Visit the event page for the full video recording of the event and more information.  

Visit the event Site