Skip to content
Arctic Circle

The Frederik Paulsen Arctic Academic Action Award

An action-oriented scientific initiative that can reverse the dramatic effects of climate change in a concrete way was awarded for the first time at the 2021 Arctic Circle Assembly.

The Winner: Dr. Trevor Bell

Dr. Trevor Bell, University Research Professor at Memorial University in Newfoundland is the winner of the 2021 Frederik Paulsen Arctic Academic Action Award. Dr. Bell was nominated for his project SmartICE. SmartICE combines remote monitoring and traditional Indigenous knowledge to help Inuit communities to make sea-ice travel faster and more secure in increasingly unpredictable ice condition.

Visit SmartICE

100,000 EUR Prize

The winner, chosen by the Award Council, received EUR 100,000 and the opportunity to implement the project through the UArctic network. A reception and a dinner were held in their honour following the presentation of the winning project at the Award Ceremony.

About the Award:

Two leading organizations have come together to address the greatest challenge facing the Arctic region: Global Warming.

Arctic Circle is the largest network of international dialogue and cooperation on the future of the Arctic.

University of the Arctic (UArctic) is a network of more than 200 universities, colleges, research institutes and other organizations concerned with education and research in and about the Arctic.

The purpose of this unique collaboration is to create a new forum that incentivizes the facilitation of scientific action programs.

Solutions to climate change and its effects will not come from hope alone or found solely in future technological or current regulatory innovations. We must work together to solve the underlying causes of the ongoing transformation of our Arctic systems. We must harness all resources at our disposal.

So far, many climatic actions have centered on measurement, information gathering and analysis. Now there is a strong interest and need to move towards action-based scientific programs to improve and reverse the dramatic effects of climate change in a concrete way.

Frederik Paulsen

The Award is linked to the name of Frederik Paulsen who for decades has been a strong promoter of Arctic and Antarctic research and cooperation. He is a patron and crucial supporter of many Arctic endeavours which have facilitated the cooperation between experts and scientists from multiple nations. Frederik Paulsen has also demonstrated strong respect for the culture and the livelihood of Indigenous peoples. His support for Arctic Circle and the UArctic is also a contribution to our success.

The Frederik Paulsen Arctic Academic Action Award will serve to promote and raise awareness of promising projects which address climate change through concrete actions and plans.

Follow Arctic Circle on Social Media